$10 Linen Closet Makeover

The Frenchie household has just moved from Rhode Island to barely-over-the-border-of Massachusetts where we bought a nice old house from the 20′s. It had recently been renovated to a degree, but no matter how much renovating someone else can do, everyone wants to make a space their own.

So I started with paint. It’s the easiest and most cost effective way to change the feel of a room on a budget. After having painted our bedroom, I had a bit of paint left over from my accent wall and with a shrug I had put it aside figuring I’d “find a way to use it”.

And then, when I opened up my disgusting linen closet that probably hadn’t been touched since the 70′s, I found a way to use it.

You can't see it here, but there's some totally wrongtious orange carpet on the floor.

You can’t see it here, but there’s some totally wrongtious orange carpet on the floor.

Also, that fern contact paper had to go. So Mr. Frenchie and I added it to our Home Depot list, and wahoo! Found some “faux leather” (la de da!) contact paper on sale for $7/roll. I grabbed one roll and actually ended up able to cover all four shelves.  You can’t really tell there is a faux leather detail, not even really up close, but we didn’t care. We only bought it because it was black, and $7.

Also, I suck at contact paper.

Also, I suck at contact paper.

But just changing the shelves wasn’t enough for me. How could it be when I had some totally radical peacock blue paint left over? Seriously.

The best colour in the world.

The best colour in the world.

And I slapped it all over the walls. I didn’t paint all the way up to the ceiling because I didn’t have enough paint, and I only painted one coat, but I’ve got to say, Behr Ultra is some pretty fantastic paint and I only needed one coat. And also, it’s a linen closet so really, who cares.

All of those post thingies sticking out stabbed me like 78 times. I wish I could have gotten them out, but they weren't budging.

All of those brackets sticking out stabbed me like 78 times. I wish I could have gotten them out, but they weren’t budging.

And then because painting the walls wasn’t enough for me, I painted the door black. Well, actually I painted the door black because I’m painting all of my doors black.

 

It looks soooooooooooo cute with my crayola "flesh" walls, doesn't it? =P

It looks soooooooooooo cute with my crayola “flesh” walls, doesn’t it? =P

And then in went the shelves! …which was actually a lot harder than I thought it would be because the shelves were really long and heavy (the closet goes really far into the right) and the space was pretty shallow.

Yeah, one or two of them fell on my head.

Yeah, one or two of them fell on my head.

And then I put all my crap inside!

finished02

See that rug?! I’m afraid of what’s underneath, so I let it stay.

finished01

I wonder how long it will stay this neat?

 

 

finished00

It’ll look much better when my hall is grey too!

The only thing that bums me out a bit is that I couldn’t really get any good photos of the finished product. Whoever designed the house figured it was a fantastic idea to not put a light in that hallway. You know, where all the other lights in the house are blocked by walls? No light in the closet either, so I’ll have to find a solution for that one.

Now who wants some fluffy towels?

Now who wants some fluffy towels?

So there you have it, my roughly $10 (because I probably used a good $10 worth of paint on my room) linen closet makeover! Thanks for having a look & stay inspired!

Frenchie xo

 

Your Thoughts?

