Easy & Light: Creamy Garlic Pasta

I don’t usually document what I cook, as I have a hard time noting recipes. I’m the sort of person who just wings it every time I cook. I’m trying to do a better job of keeping track of how things are made, and I thought today would be a pretty good attempt.

I finally got around to meal planning and not only has it made grocery shopping easier, but also the actual cooking part. No more “what’s for dinner”, except for Fridays, which I have deemed leftover/eat down the pantry day. It makes me actually excited to create meals. Yay!

Last night was a pasta & veggie night, and because I like to just dance around the kitchen and toss stuff onto the stove, I thought perhaps I’d whip up a light and summery sauce to go with.

 

Nothing like a nice light dish on the first day of summer!

Nothing like a nice light dish on the first day of summer!

Veggies

Sautee up those veggies!

Garlic

I don’t mess around with Garlic.

Recipe:

Serves 2

Ingredients:

1/2 Red Bell Pepper

1/2 Zucchini

1/2 Summer Squash

Carrot Slices (I eyeballed it)

1/4 cu milk

1/2 stick butter

Lots and Lots of Garlic. I did 1.5 spoonfuls as pictured above, but really, however much you want.

Cornstarch (how much depends on how thick you want your sauce. I used maybe 1.5 tsp)

salt & pepper to taste

Pasta of your choosing

Directions:

1. Sautee up those veggies! I put the carrots in first while I cut up the pepper, then threw the pepper chunks in while I cut up the zuke and squash, since those take the least amount of time to cook up. When they’re starting to get a hint of brown, add a bit of water and simmer on low, alternating between covered and uncovered. By the time everything else is ready, the water will have cooked out. Salt & Pepper, stir occasionally

2. In medium saucepan, boil water for pasta. In small saucepan, melt butter and combine with milk, salt, pepper, and garlic. Cook on medium/high heat until pasta water is boiled (that’s how I time things) Stir frequently

3. When you’ve added your pasta to the water, add cornstarch to garlic sauce and raise temperature to high to thicken it up! When it’s good and bubbly, lower the heat and stir frequently.

4. Once the pasta is done to your liking, drain and return to pan. Add veggies and garlic sauce. Mix until combined.

5. Serve with your favourite white wine 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Easy & Light: Creamy Garlic Pasta

Your Thoughts?

